Matera, Southern Italy.

70 thoughts on “Matera, Southern Italy.

    • Thank you Pockets!
      And great question.. most of the pics from the Coastal Areas (US) and around Italy are places I’ve been and love. Some other big cities in Europe too, as well as China, Vietnam and Australia.
      But,
      another big part of this is just enjoying the beauty around the planet – and slowly gathering some inspiration for future travels.
      And – to share and connect w nice folks, that’s a major drive for this blog I think.. :)

  1. Hey Mac, Thanks for stopping by ‘beyondtheporthole’. Love your photography and Italy is on the list of future places. I still have a lot of unfinished business with Spain though. Best regards.

  2. Magnificent Work. Simply Fabulous Color. Perhaps in another life I will get there…meantime, I’ve enjoyed the virtual visit.

  3. Thanks for the comment, Mac, and for gving me the chance to visit your blog. Loved the Matera photo – nice to see somewhere in Southern italy looking so green, just like my home region in Central Italy. That’s a really different view of the Mezzogiorno.

    • Exactly! After some traveling “su e giĆ¹” in Italy – it always strikes me how the landscape changes the second you pass Rome… from dry and arid to green and more fertile, or the other way around. I really love both parts – but it really is two distinct climate zones!

  4. Wow! Beautiful – I have been in Matera – in 2010 I interrailed thru Italy and stayed with a girl thru couchsurfing – she lived with her mother and her little brother and they both took me in as a family member for the short 2 days I stayed there – but my pictures from Matera are mostly of the cave-buildings and amazing night-lights! Thanks for sharing, and thanks for liking my blogpost! =)

    • Thanks!! And sounds like a nice stay in Matera – the southern hospitality is always great :D I’ve spent a summer in Siciliy and traveled a bit around Naples and Puglia some years ago, and loved it. It’s a bit more arid landscape though, so this pic was a nice contrast..!

    • Thanks Heather!! This is by far the most popular pic on this blog – and just with some shades of green and beautiful lines of nature! The south of Italy is not usually this green and fertile though, It’s often steaming hot and arid landscapes – but great people :) And food. And architecture. And lots of other nice things!

  5. I am walking those beautiful, lush green hills. The sun warm on my face. Perhaps when I reach the farm house there willo be an icy glass of rose’ – vino frizzante – waiting for me. Virginia

  6. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog today and liking “The Lighthouse”. I’m glad your visit brought me to your blog. Very cool! I can’t wait to see all of the awesome images you post.

  7. WOW! I could sit on that hill and write a novel:-) Which month was this photo taken? And….If/when you get to South Italy again, try to get to Manduria, Oria, Galipoli, Taranto……Beauty all over the place waiting for your camera. Merci for liking my August blog entry!

    • Thanks!! I’m just collecting though :) This one was taken in April 2010 I think.. And thanks for the tips – I love traveling in Italy!

Leave a Reply

